House Republican leadership team elected for coming biennium

State House Republicans elected their leadership team Monday in preparation for the 2019 legislative session that begins in January. John Sattgast reports from the state Capitol.

 Radio Report Transcript

SATTGAST: Representative J.T. Wilcox of Yelm was re-elected as leader of the Washington House Republicans – a position he first accepted back in March of this year.

With Democrats having larger majorities going into the 2019 session, Wilcox said House Republicans plan to fight for effective state government oversight – and hard-working taxpayers.

WILCOX: “The other side has expressed a lot of rhetoric about all kinds of tax increases. We have had some of the greatest revenue increases in history. That's plenty of money to do the things the government needs to do. And the Republican – House Republican Caucus – we want to protect those who just want to make a living, feed their families, and build a great middle-class life.” 

SATTGAST: Others re-elected to leadership include: Representative Joel Kretz of Wauconda as Deputy Leader, Representative Drew Stokesbary of Auburn as Floor Leader and Representative Drew MacEwen of Union as Assistant Floor Leader.

Representative Paul Harris of Vancouver is the new caucus chair. Representative Gina Mosbrucker of Goldendale will be vice-chair. Representative Dan Griffey of Allyn is the new whip. And Representative Jacquelin Maycumber will also be Assistant Floor Leader.

The scheduled 105-day session begins January 14th.

John Sattgast, Olympia.


Washington State House Republican Communications
Broadcast Coordinator: 360.786.7257